ScotRail customers benefit from new taxi service

Monday, 13 March 2017

A new taxi booking service that allows ScotRail customers to order a taxi for their journey to or from the station launched this weekend.

The new Cab&Go service launched on Sunday 12 March, and will be available for customers to pre-book a taxi to or from 40 stations which don’t have a taxi rank. Anyone booking tickets to or from one of these stations will have the option to book a taxi through the Cab&Go website.

An up-front quote is be provided, giving customers peace of mind as there’s no meter running. Customers will be kept up to date by the Cab&Go support team: just after booking, a confirmation text message is sent including the number for a dedicated 24-hour helpline in case of any issues. Then, shortly before the pick-up time, the customer receives a text with the make, colour and registration number of the taxi, as well as the driver’s phone number and the meeting point.

The service will be available 24/7, and has been tried and tested for several years in the Netherlands by Abellio’s parent company, Nederlandse Spoorwegen, as well as Abellio Greater Anglia in the south east of England.

Ian McConnell, the ScotRail Alliance’s programmes and transformation director, said: “The new Cab&Go service makes it even easier for our customers to plan journeys by public transport from door-to-door.”

“With no cash or meters to worry about, it’s the simplest way to get to and from the station.”


  • Bookings require two hours’ notice, and can only be made at
  • Taxis can only be booked if they pick up or drop off from a Cab&Go station.
  • Accessible vehicles will be provided wherever possible.

The 40 Cab&Go stations are:

  • Alloa
  • Balloch
  • Barrhead
  • Blairhill
  • Blantyre
  • Bridge of Allan
  • Clarkston
  • Dalmeny
  • Dalmuir
  • Dingwall
  • Dunblane
  • Dyce
  • East Kilbride
  • Edinburgh Park
  • Elgin
  • Greenock Central
  • Huntly
  • Inverurie
  • Kyle of Lochalsh
  • Lanark
  • Larbert
  • Lenzie
  • Leuchars
  • Linlithgow
  • Livingston North
  • Livingston South
  • Longniddry
  • Mallaig
  • Musselburgh
  • Neilston
  • Newcraighall
  • Newton
  • North Berwick
  • Polmont
  • Stranraer
  • Thurso
  • Tweedbank
  • Uphall
  • Wallyford
  • Wishaw